Leave a comment

Queen Mary

Anybody who knows me can tell you how absolutely fanatic I am about Mary J. Blige. It’s almost blasphemous.  At the risk of sounding overly dramatic, I’ll never forget where I was when I heard the baseline of “Real Love” drop for the first time; “What’s the 411?” changed my life forever.  Then came the album that really set Mary’s career ablaze, “My Life”.  Arguably one of her most emotional and personal albums, “My Life” is to Mary what “Thriller” was to Michael, a masterpiece.  That was almost 17 years ago and Mary is still making magic.  Today legions of Mary J. Blige fans celebrate the release of “My Life II: The Journey Continues (Act 1)”.  If you haven’t gotten your copy yet, I’ll excuse your misstep, but please take corrective action immediately.

Mary’s music has evolved over the years.  And her fans, myself included, have grown with her.  There is a Mary song to fit any and every mood that I could be in…happy, sad, reflective, in love, in pain, ready to workout, ready to go to bed, etc. In the spirit of celebrating the iconic “Queen of Hip-Hop/Soul”, let’s take a stroll down memory lane and Reminisce on some of the greatest (in my humble opinion) MJB moments.  I hope you’ll Be Happy with my selections.  Enjoy.

“Love No Limit” from What’s the 411 -1992

“Be Happy” from Share My Life– 1994

“No More Drama” from No More Drama– 2001

“Take Me As I Am” from The Breakthrough– 2005

“25/8” from My Life II… The Journey Continues (Act I)– 2011

Leave a Reply

